Skip to content
June 11, 2012 / jamiedayton

Teaching Moments Part II : Better Than a Band-Aid

I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours. Mark 11:24

You know it is so hard to ask for things sometimes. Especially when you think know the answer will be NO. At least it is for me, I think that is why praying is so hard for me. I tend to think I won’t get it so I won’t ask, or that what I am seeking is not important enough to bother God, The Creator of all that is. Of course it could be my big, I mean little, rebellion problem I am dealing with, but that is for another post. ALL LIES!

The bible tells us in my opening verse of Mark 11:24 that if you ask with belief you will receive. I want my children to believe this with all their hearts so they don’t have to struggle with belief the way I do.

Fear

I have started with praying away fear at night, the boys tend to get bad dreams so I began praying away the darkness and things that give bad dreams. I pray that the Lord will send an army of angels to put a hedge of protection around them, their room and our house. That not even the smallest shadow of darkness may enter and only the Light of Jesus will dwell in them. I pray that the Lord gives them sweet dreams. I even ask for Him to come to them in their dreams and tell them things. I LOVE seeing the smile of content and peace on their faces as they fall asleep knowing that they are protected and their sleep will not be disturbed by fear. If by chance there is a bad dream, I will have them pray with me for the Lord to cancel that dream and make it go away. We have not had any sleepless nights due to fear of sleep and what lies behind those closed eyes in a very long time. The best part is when Daddy has bed duty and doesn’t pray this prayer with them, they have begun taking it upon themselves to be covered in His protection. Makes my heart sing!!!!

Healing

I know that healing is so controversial today. Don’t close out on me just yet. Wether you believe in modern-day healing or not I think we could agree that Jesus did heal, right? I mean it says He did in the bible. He healed many people from all different ailments.  But the one thing that was His signature remark you could say, was “go your FAITH has healed you”. I want my children to have a healing kind of faith. A faith that knows they have a Father who loves them even when they mess up, who cares deeply for everything about them, even the smallest bruise and scrape, I want them to really understand that He knows the number of hairs on their heads and that they are important enough.

So I began to pray for the Lord to heal every single bump, bruise, scrape and cut they get. I always found it funny that they immediately asked for a band-aid when they got hurt. They believe that band-aid makes them better. That gets expensive, especially living in Kuwait where those cute little cartoon character band-aids cost 3 times what you pay in the states. Prayer is so much cheaper, convenient and faith building. I love it when boy#1 comes to me after getting hurt or when he feels sick and asks for me to pray to Jesus  asking for healing.  Even better is when I have finished praying and he gets up and runs off to play as if he was never in pain.

I know there are times we pray and things don’t go the way we wanted, believe me I know, if you haven’t read my post on wanting a miracle you should. I know what unanswered prayer is, or rather not answered how we want. They are so many reasons that are beyond our comprehension for this. But this just leads to more teaching moments. James 4:1-3 tells us

4 What is causing the quarrels and fights among you? Don’t they come from the evil desires at war within you? 2 You want what you don’t have, so you scheme and kill to get it. You are jealous of what others have, but you can’t get it, so you fight and wage war to take it away from them. Yet you don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. 3 And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.

This is just one example on how to teach your children. If they pray and don’t receive what they have asked, then we can discuss their motives for what they are wanting.

I just want them to come to know Christ and who He is and how He loves them.  I hope that they will find that they are falling in love with Him too!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. creationscience4kids / Jun 12 2012 3:04 am

    I started praying for Jesus’ protection when my first boy started getting fear of the boogy man type of problem. My oldest two and their younger brothers have never had an issue with fear like that since.
    I like your active prayers for healing. When we’re all down with a cold or something more serious I remember, but not the little bumps and scrapes.
    It’s nice to see someone else being proactive to provide a better environment for their children’s spiritual growth. I grew up in a godly home, but we all still have trouble with the constant, little prayers throughout the day.
    Blessings on you!

Leave a Reply

