Skip to content
February 11, 2012 / jamiedayton

Living By Faith, Not By Sight

6 Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. 7 For we live by faith, not by sight. 2 Corinthians 5:6,7

Soo….. I am embarrassed to admit this but I have only left the house 2 times in the last month and that was for doctor appointments. Why, well there are many reasons, Anxiety, Fear, Uncertainty, my sanity…..

Baby girl got sick at just 14 days of age and ended up in the hospital with pneumonia 3 days later. After that I vowed not to take her out until she was 100% better, well that fed into my fears and anxieties. Fear ,that she would get sick again,; anxious, that I wouldn’t be able to handle all the children when we went out. I mean, I have an almost seven-year old who really is in his own world most of the time, a four and a half-year old who is outgrowing his wild, rambunctious, destructive phase but it is still there some times, and a newly turned two-year old who is filling in the shoes of the four and a half-year old in the said phase quite nicely, and well, I am overwhelmed at wondering how I can take care of baby girl when out and about with all of them. I have lived by sight, literally at home, in the body, Not with the Lord.

OF course the longer I stay cooped up in this house with all four children the more overwhelmed I feel. I am losing myself in this mess and I hate it. Again this is where Seeds Family Worship has been so helpful. I will be just at the edge of my sanity when one of their songs will come to mind, as I sing this beautiful scripture over and over, the tears flow and then the darkness is chased away by His brilliant light. I am so thankful for a God is mighty to save!  So today I decided to Live By Faith and with Christ and so I braved the big wide world, I sent the 3 boys over to a very dear friends house, she always has my back! and took baby girl grocery shopping (we really had nothing to eat in our house). Since she seems to be coming off a growth spurt this was a good day as she slept most of the time in her car seat, better than the last week of my having to hold her all day and still only sleeping for 20-40 minute stretches in-between crying fits and spitting up. Or maybe she really needed to get out too.

Next step is to go to church. I hate to admit it but I haven’t been in 5 weeks. I am so not ready to fight with the boys about getting ready fast enough and getting in the car and going into their assigned classes, nor hear boy #3 crying as I drop him off. He just turned two a few weeks before baby girl was born and that is the minimum age for the classes and so he has never been. Not a good time to transition.  But I am going to go, I need to go, there is something so refreshing there and I am thirsty for it, but until then I have my trusty Bible, Seeds, and a loving Father who will meet my here with a refreshing cup!

Here is a picture of her at 6 weeks, getting home from her first trip to the grocery store.

and here are the songs that have really helped me through this past month.

From the Praise CD

Better Than Life- Psalm 63: 1-4

Psalm 63

A psalm of David. When he was in the Desert of Judah.

1You, God, are my God,   

earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you,   

my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land   

where there is no water.

2 I have seen you in the sanctuary   

 and beheld your power and your glory.

3 Because your love is better than life,   

my lips will glorify you.

4 I will praise you as long as I live,   

and in your name I will lift up my hands.

Mighty To Save- Zephaniah 3:17  (this song I sing to myself replacing YOU with ME, and I sing it over baby girl to calm her down)

Zephaniah 3:17

17 The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you;   
 in his love he will no longer rebuke you,    but will rejoice over you with singing.”
 from the Power of Encouragement CD
Cast Your Cares- Psalm 55:22

Psalm 55:22

22 Cast your cares on the LORD   

and he will sustain you; he will never let   

the righteous be shaken.

Take Heart- John 16:33

John 16:33

   33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.

   In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

And From the Seeds of character CD
More Than Conqueror’s -Romans 8:37

Romans 8:35-37

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36As it is written:   “For your sake we face death all day long;    we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”[a]37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.
I don’t know about you, but I get so much encouragement hearing these sweet promises from an ever present, loving and faithful Father!
*Disclaimer: I have not been paid or asked by Seeds Family Worship to comment on their CD’s.
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. shannon / Feb 19 2012 12:51 pm

    hey glad you got out… the baby is precious. i miss you, email me when you get a chance.

  2. Tracy / Feb 21 2012 10:06 pm

    I had no idea she was in the hospital! Oh my goodness! So glad that she’s healthy again!

Leave a Reply

