Skip to content
March 7, 2011 / jamiedayton

Long-suffering

Long-suffering: adj. Having or showing patience in spite of troubles, especially those caused by other people. (Oxford Dictionary of English)

In The Bible,KJV, the word Longsuffering is used 17 times and is translated from 4 different words.
In the Hebrew it is translated from

‘arek– and ‘aph.

In the Greek it is translated from

makrothymia and

makrothymeō

The Greek word makrothymeo is used in the well-known verse about love in 1 Corinthians 13:4 Charity (love) sufferth long, (and) is kind……

The Greek word makrothymia is used in the verse I quoted earlier about the fruits of the Spirit. Galatians 5:22 (Who..)

I often read these two verses and think WOW I am totally missing the mark. Do I have long-suffering with my children?  Especially on those days that they are particularly hard-headed? What about with my husband?  When he has had a long day at work and comes home with high expectations of what home will be like that night and it is anything but, and his disappointment shines through, do I show him Makrothymeo?  Unfortunately most of the time my answers would be NO.

I want to, Oh Lord how I want to.  Sometimes I have more Makrothymeo, for strangers and acquaintances then I do for the people I Love more than anything in this world.  That is disheartening to me.  I allow the enemy to just walk on in and sit for coffee.

What about with friends or people who you considered friends and they abused and used you up until you had no more?  Do you continue to show them makrothymia?   I have had more “friends” like this then I can count, and so many times I just want to write them off and tell them what they can do with their so-called friendship.  But is that being makrothymia?

This is constantly a struggle as it is completely NOT my nature. Patience is something that was lost when my second son arrived and started to become just like me his own person. He is so full of energy and completely opposite of his older brother.  I admit I thought I had it all down, how to be the good best mom. I was calm, patient, caring, understanding……. I never once thought the reason I had it all together was because I had the most laid back little boy in the universe.  Seriously at 15 months I would only see him when we wanted to nurse for some contact time or for naps. He was completely self-sufficient in his entertainment needs, he rarely got into anything once I had told him no (the first time), he NEVER EVER threw a tantrum or fit EVER, the list could go on.  Boy was I in for a rude awakening.   Along came #2 and my image as a mother was shattered along with my phones, books, and anything else that got into his little hands.  This boy was nick named “Bam Bam” at the age of 1 by his grandfather when we where visiting and #2 cracked the face of grandpa’s watch.  He still breaks everything he touches (mostly his older brothers cool toys and gadgets) and can get me to scream faster than the take off of an Indy Car.  I think the anger came in and patience left when my self-made image of being the perfect mother was lost. 

I know that God created me in His image (Genisis 1:27) , I know that He created me to be their mother (Psalm 139 :13-16; Jeremiah 29:11; Romans 8:28, Ephesians 1:11, 2:10).  I just have a hard time being the mother He created me to be on a daily basis. The makrothymeo is lost, buried in so much disappointment and laundry.  Thank God for grace!  And new beginnings.

I now believe that this is something that has to be taught and worked on, it is not something we are born with the ability to do (despite my previous assumption that I was) I realize I was just fooling myself.  Only God can help us with this.  It is, after all, one of the fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22) therefore we must have the Spirit in us in order to bear His fruit.

More of You Lord and less of me….. My mantra.

Leave a Reply

