Skip to content
March 6, 2011 / jamiedayton

How….

How do I expect My children to have a relationship with Jesus, to choose Him, to Love Him, If we (My husband and I) don’t demonstrate this in our home? If we aren’t reflecting that in our lives, they will never get it, they will struggle with it and may even turn away from Him. We can’t just talk about Jesus, say a few prayers and go to sleep thinking they are going to accept Him as their saviour one day. If they continually see our anger, disappointment from our day, bickering, discontent and loneliness; then hear us tell them how good God is, that He loves us, and hears our prayers. They will never believe it, or us.

I cry at night at how we (I) fail them. I want Them to see the Fruits of the spirit in ME (us). Love, Joy, Peace, Longsuffering, Gentleness, Goodness, Faith (Galatians 5:22). I want to live it for them so that they see and KNOW that God is real, He DOES Love us and care for us, our needs, our situation.
Pray along with me in agreement for these things
Lord, I come to you a sinner, fallen and broken, but by your grace I am redeemed, whole and new. Lord I ask for you to convict me of my wrong doings so that I may repent and be made new, I ask for Your Spirit to fill me and produce It’s fruit abundantly so that it overflows from me into my home, my husband and my children. Bless me Lord with your supernatural LOVE, JOY, PEACE, LONGSUFFERING, GENTLENESS, GOODNESS, and FAITH. So that I can share and teach these things to those whom you have entrusted their care to me. I claim these in your Holy and mighty name Lord, Jesus; Amen.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mikah / Mar 6 2011 4:35 pm

    Jamie, you must be in my head and in my heart. I am concerned about this on a daily basis. My biggest struggle that I continue to fail at is my tone of voice in discipline letting my frustration shine through. I also think about all of the character traits I want to instill and then I realize that character is caught not taught and I have a lot to work on. Maybe having a child is a little bit about his character development but mostly about mine.

  2. Western Warmth / Mar 6 2011 8:44 pm

    Good comment, Mikah. What I think of, is to let yourself off the hook, Jamie. You are doing such a hard job as a mom and praying about it and trying to do your best. I think one way to teach about God’s grace is to give yourself some grace. Forgive yourself, think kind things about yourself. I know its hard, and something I really struggle with. But at the same time I don’t want my kids to think they have to be perfect.

    • jamiedayton / Mar 7 2011 7:55 am

      I agree, but I also think that this can get lost if it is not done properly. It requires Me to humble myself before my children and confess that I was wrong and not acting in the spirit but in the flesh and ask for their forgiveness, and then to repent to The Father before them. To often I let my anger stay and don’t confess. This is such a poor example on my part. But you are right about it all. I need to think kindness of myself. Such a delicate balance that can not be done alone. I love you!

Leave a Reply

